The American Red Cross


The American Red Cross is mandated by the United States Government to prepare and respond to disasters in the United States and properties. The Federal Response Plan lists the Red Cross as authority for ESF, 6 (Emergency Service Function) Mass Care. This includes feeding and sheltering. At the national level, the ARRL and the American Red Cross share a Memo of Understanding. In Connecticut, there are thirteen chapters that provide free training relating to disaster services; feeding, sheltering, damage assessment and client casework. Communications are needed after a disaster strikes. ARES can play a vital role in supporting facilities and units in the field. Many ARES members hold dual memberships as both ARES and  Red Cross


CT Red Cross website:


The CT Deputy SEC for Agency Liaison operations is

Brian Fernandez




CT RC Chapter Map Area One Towns



Home page